

Faculty Senate

Senate Reference SR 23-24

MEMORANDUM

TO Jane Leatherman, Chair

Nominations and Elections Committee

FROM: Jay Johns, Chair

Senate Executive Committee

DATE: 02/26/2024

SUBJ: Charge to Nominate Candidates for the Advisory Committee on Equity

The Vice-President for Ethics and Compliance of Purdue University appoints, upon the nomination of various stakeholders, including the Chancellor of PFW, an Advisory Committee on Equity to help with resolving complaints of discrimination and harassment and with maintaining an environment that recognizes the inherent worth and dignity of every person. For more details see:

https://www.purdue.edu/ethics/resources/resolving-complaints.php.

The Chancellor seeks to make nominations to the committee informed by formalized faculty input. The Executive Committee wishes therefore to charge Nominations and Elections to put out a call and solicit names of faculty members willing to serve on said committee; from the list of candidates thus populated, Faculty Leadership will then submit three names to the Chancellor for his consideration. Please note that according to Purdue University regulations lecturers are not considered Faculty.

Terms are for three years, and the time commitment includes an in-person training upon appointment (one-half to one full day), annual online training thereafter (about 30–60minutes), and participation in panel meetings as needed (about 2–4 times per year for about 2–3 hours each, depending on the complexity of the matter). The policies for which this apply are the Nondiscrimination Policy:

https://www.purdue.edu/home/ea_eou_statement/,

and the Anti-Harassment Policy:

https://www.purdue.edu/policies/ethics/iiic1.html .

Approved	Opposed	Abstention	Absent	Non-Voting
Kristin Barker			Daniel Tembras	Craig Ortsey
Bernd Buldt				
Jay Johns				
Carol Lawton				
Assem Nasr				
Nash Younis				