Senate Document SD 20–39 Approved, 3/22/2021

## MEMORANDUM

To: Fort Wayne Senate

From: Bernd Buldt, Chair Executive Committee of the Fort Wayne Senate

Date: February 24, 2021

Subj: Amendment of the by-laws as caused by the changed number of major units

WHEREAS, the College of Liberal Arts and College of Science will replace the College of Arts and Sciences as of July 1, 2021; and

WHEREAS, the School of Education will be formed in the place of the College of Professional Studies as of July 1, 2021; and

WHEREAS, these changes will create a total of seven "Major Units" as they are defined in Sections 1.2 and 1.3 of the Bylaws (College of Engineering, Technology and Computer Science, College of Liberal Arts, College of Science, College of Visual and Performing Arts, Helmke Library, Richard T. Doermer School of Business, School of Education); and

WHEREAS, at least two provisions of the Bylaws, Section 5.3.5.2.1.10.1 (membership of the University Advancement Advisory Subcommittee) and Section 5.3.6.1 (membership of the Subcommittee Task Force), make reference to the existence of six Major Units; and

WHEREAS, the Bylaws should not be overly specific as to the number of Major Units given potential future reorganizations of the University's academic structure;

BE IT RESOLVED, that Section 5.3.5.2.1.10.1 of the Bylaws be amended to read as the following:

"Membership: The Subcommittee membership shall comprise four Ex Officio Members (Chief Advancement Officer; Director of Alumni Relations; Executive Director of Marketing Communications; Director of Advancement Services) and ten faculty elected to staggered three-year terms by the Senate in such a manner that at least one representative from each of the six major academic units are represented **Major Units is represented**, if possible."; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Section 5.3.6.1 of the Bylaws be amended to read as the following:

"Membership: The Subcommittee Task Force shall consist of six Voting Faculty and continuing lecturers elected by the Senate in such manner that each Major Unit has at least one representative at least four of the Major Units shall be represented. Policy committees requesting that the Subcommittee Task Force be called into service shall recommend to the Executive Committee the administrators, clerical or support staff, administrative/professional staff, and student representatives it deems appropriate. The Executive Committee is responsible for inviting such members."