Senate Document SD 23-8

MEMORANDUM

Approved, 1/8/2024

TO: Fort Wayne Senate

FROM: Steven A. Hanke, Chair of the Education Policy Committee

DATE: 11/15/2023

SUBJ: Updates to Countries Exempt from English Proficiency for Undergraduate

Applications

WHEREAS, the Educational Policy Committee (EPC) is the parent committee of the International Education Advisory Subcommittee; and

WHEREAS, the International Education Advisory Subcommittee requested that EPC review a resolution to update the countries exempt from English Proficiency for Undergraduate Applications; and

WHEREAS, EPC completed the review and voted in support of the document going forward;

BE IT RESOLVED, That the attached resolution be considered by the Senate.

MEMORANDUM

TO: Steven Hanke

Chair, Educational Policy Committee

FROM: Assem Nasr

Mieko Yamada

Chair, International Education Advisory Subcommittee

DATE: October 30, 2023

SUBJECT: Updates to Countries Exempt from English Proficiency for Undergraduate Applications

WHEREAS, the International Education Advisory Subcommittee (IEAS) is a subcommittee of the Educational Policy Committee (EPC);

WHEREAS, Purdue University - West Lafayette (PU) has established a list of countries from which applicants are exempt from supplying evidence of proficiency in English;

WHEREAS, in maintaining consistency with PU's application waivers for countries where English is an official language;

WHEREAS, streamlining application requirements is necessary to avoid conflicting standards in waiving English language requirements between undergraduate and graduate applicants to PFW, and inline with PU's general admissions regulations for international applications,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the following be added to the list of countries exempt from proof of English language proficiency for PFW's undergraduate international applicants.

Botswana	Nigeria	Tanzania
Christmas Island	Norfolk Island	The Gambia
Cook Islands	Philippines	Uganda
Ghana	Pitcairn Islands	Zambia
Kenya	Saint Helena	Zimbabwe
Lesotho	Sierra Leone	South Africa
Liberia	Singapore	South Sudan
Malawi	Swaziland	

Approve Object Abstain Non-voting
Nurgul Aitalieva John Jensen
Adolfo Coronado Maureen Linvill
Cheu-jey Lee Ryan Meriweather
Assem Nasr