Senate Document SD 02-8 (Supersedes SD 97-14) (Tabled, 12/9/2002)

TO:	Fort Wayne Senate
FROM:	Educational Policy Committee
	Linda Hite, Chair
DATE	October 4, 2002
SUBJECT	Revision to Senate Bylaws: Academic Advising Subcommittee Membership
DISPOSITION	To the presiding officer for implementation

WHEREAS, The Academic Advising Subcommittee has recommended changes to their membership structure (Bylaws 5.3.3.12.1), and

WHEREAS, The proposed changes are designed to make the Subcommittee more effective by ensuring more input from professional advisors, and

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate approve the following amendments to the Bylaws:

5.3.3.12.1 Membership. The Subcommittee shall have one representative of the Voting Faculty from each school/division, chosen for their staggered three year terms by procedures adopted by their school/division; and one professional advisor from each school/division. In schools/divisions with no professional advisors, a second member shall be selected from amongst the faculty or staff. Each will be chosen for their staggered three-year terms by procedures adopted by their school/division. two administrative or professional advisors selected for their staggered three year terms by the chief officers in charge of academic affairs and of student affairs; Additionally, the membership shall include two students selected by the Students' Government for one-year terms; the director of the General Studies program; the chief administrator of student counseling; and the assistant administrator of student counseling. A non-voting member may be selected by the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs.

The Subcommittee shall be co-chaired by the chief administrator of student counseling and a school/division *Voting Faculty* representative elected annually by and from the Subcommittee membership.

For Executive Committee:

Approving: N. Younis

Not Approving: M. Codispoti, J. Grant, P. Hamburger, P. Iadicola, M. Nusbaumer

Absent: R. Sedlmeyer

For Educational Policy Committee:

Approving: B. Abbott, H. Broberg, S. Hannah, L. Hite, D. Oberstar, J. Purse-Wiedenhoeft

Nonvoting: - P. McLaughlin

For Academic Advising Subcommittee:

Approving: C. Drummond, J. Fellers-Hook, A. Hoff, A. LeBlanc, M. Montesino, D. Neitzel, K. Otani, M. Slaubaugh

Note: Questions concerning this document should be addressed to L. Hite at Ext. 6416.