TO: The Senate

FROM: Executive Committee

Jane Grant, Chair

DATE: 26 January 2004

SUBJECT: Amendment to the Bylaws: Promotion and Tenure Subcommittee Faculty Membership

DISPOSITION: To the Presiding Officer for implementation

WHEREAS, The Executive Committee examined the wording of the Promotion and Tenure Subcommittee; and

WHEREAS, The Executive Committee found that the wording of Section 5.3.2.2.1 was unclear as to the definition of faculty membership;

BE IT RESOLVED, That Section 5.3.2.2.1 of the Bylaws be amended as follows (change in **bold**):

**Promotion and Tenure Subcommittee.** This Subcommittee shall consider all applications for promotion in rank or tenure from Faculty in those units subject to the powers of the Faculty detailed in Section VI of the Constitution of the Faculty; other units may, at their option, request Subcommittee consideration of applications originating therein.

5.3.2.2.1 *Membership*. This Subcommittee shall consist of the Chief Academic Officer of IPFW as nonvoting chair and seven tenured members of the Fort Wayne **Voting** Faculty, a majority of whom hold the rank of Professor or Librarian, selected so as to provide balanced representation of the disciplinary areas. Voting members of this Subcommittee will be elected to three-year terms, staggered in the first instance, by the Chief Administrative Officer of IPFW and the two Speakers of the Faculty from a panel of nominees composed of at least two representatives from the faculty of each school/division selected according to procedures adopted by the school/division Faculty and incorporated into the documents which define the protocols of Faculty governance within the school/division. Voting members of this Subcommittee shall recuse themselves from considering cases of candidates with whom they share significant credit for research or creative endeavor which is part of the candidate's case. Faculty members shall not serve on this Subcommittee in a year when their own case is pending.