Senate Document SD	U.S	-24	۱
--------------------	-----	-----	---

(Amends SD 89-13)

(Approved, 4/19/2004)

TO: The Senate

FROM: Faculty Affairs Committee

David Oberstar, Chair

DATE: April 6, 2004

RE: Promotion and Tenure Procedures of the School of Arts and Sciences

DISPOSITION: To the presiding officer for implementation

Whereas the School of Arts and Sciences has proposed revisions to the school's Governance Document (see attached), and

Whereas the Faculty Affairs Committee has approved these revisions,

Therefore be it resolved that the Senate approve said revisions.

Senate Document SD 03-24

(Amends SD 89-13)

(Approved, 4/19/2004)

A&SCD 03-10A

Revised version

(Last amended, 4/5/2004)

Current language

12.2.3.2 The committee members shall be elected as follows: Each department with no continuing committee members shall nominate one tenured Faculty member if there are three or more such individuals eligible to serve. In departments with fewer than three eligible members, a tenured or tenure-track Faculty member may be nominated. Department chairs or program directors whose departments have pending tenure or promotion cases and members of the campus promotion and tenure committee are ineligible to serve. The Voting Faculty of the School shall elect by preferential ballot the three committee members, one from the humanities, one from the natural sciences, and one from the social sciences. The ballot shall identify each nominee's department, rank, and tenure status.

Language with the amendment imbedded (in bold), and the old language struck

12.2.3.2 The committee members shall be elected as follows: Each department with no continuing committee members shall nominate one tenured Faculty member. if there are three or more such individuals eligible to serve. In departments with fewer than three eligible members, a tenured or tenure-track Faculty member may be nominated. If a department has fewer than three tenured Faculty members eligible to serve, the department may choose to submit no nominee. Department chairs or program directors whose departments have pending tenure or promotion cases and members of the

campus promotion and tenure committee are ineligible to serve. The Voting Faculty of the School shall elect by preferential ballot the three committee members, one from the humanities, one from the natural sciences, and one from the social sciences. The ballot shall identify each nominee's department, rank, and tenure status.