α ,	Document		$^{\circ}$	\circ
Senate	Llocument	\sim 1)	11/1_	.х
Schaic	Document	עע	v_{T}	·O

(Approved, 12/13/2004)

TO: The Senate

FROM: Executive Committee

Jane Grant, Chair

DATE: December 1, 2004

SUBJECT: Amendment to the Bylaws of the Senate: Honors Program Council

DISPOSITION: To the Presiding Officer for implementation

WHEREAS, the Honors Program Council has reorganized the Honors Program (see SD 04-4);

BE IT RESOLVED, That the Bylaws of the Senate be amended by deleting the overstruck text and inserting the boldface text as indicated below.

Jonors Program Council shall consist of:

- five Voting Faculty members elected by the Senate to staggered, two-year terms, subject to the restriction that no more than one member may come from the same School

- two members of the Honors Faculty, appointed to staggered, two-year terms by the Chief Academic Officer of IPFW
- two student members appointed to one-year terms by the Students' Government, at least one of whom shall have successfully completed, or be enrolled in, at least one honors course. Student members shall participate and vote in all matters before the Council except questions of student admission, retention, and satisfaction of program requirements.
- the Chief Academic Officer of IPFW or a designee
- the Director of the Honors Program.

The Council shall carry out the functions described in SD 00-5 SD 04-4 and shall exercise the Faculty's authority with regard to academic matters related to the Honors Program.