## **MEMORANDUM**

TO: Fort Wayne Senate

FROM: Faculty Affairs Committee

DATE: February 23, 2015

SUBJECT: CEPP Policy Handbook revision

DISPOSITION: Request a Senate vote on Section V of the attached document.

WHEREAS, the College of Education and Public Policy has revised their handbook, including sections on Promotion and Tenure;

BE IT RESOLVED, that the sections on promotion and tenure in the new handbook be accepted by the Senate.

## IV. Faculty

- A. **Voting Faculty**: Voting faculty members are defined in the *Constitution of the Faculty of Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne* (http://new.ipfw.edu/dotAsset/185304.pdf).
- B. Evaluation of Tenured and Non-Tenured Faculty: Each faculty member is required to submit an annual report to the chair of her/his department as well as the Dean. Guidelines and timelines are established by each department. Third-year reviews are required for all tenure-track faculty members in the CEPP in conjunction with applicable departmental guidelines and timelines.
- C. **CEPP Faculty Meetings**: The Dean will schedule college-level faculty meetings from time to time as needed. In addition, the chair of the Leadership Committee can schedule meetings at the request of a simple majority of the members.
- D. **Amendments to the CEPP** *Policy Handbook*: The CEPP *Policy Handbook* may be amended by a two-thirds majority vote of the CEPP voting faculty.
- E. **Service in the Fort Wayne Senate**: Voting faculty in each of the three departments will elect one representative to serve in the Fort Wayne Senate. Additional representatives, if needed based upon the allocation formula utilized by the Senate, will be chosen atlarge in an election coordinated by the Leadership Committee. Elected senators will serve three-year terms.

## V. Promotion and Tenure

- A. Each department will follow its own guidelines when it pertains to promotion and tenure issues.
- B. The assessment points for promotion and tenure cases are as follows:
  - 1. Department promotion and tenure committee
  - 2. Department chair
  - 3. CEPP promotion and tenure committee
  - 4. CEPP Dean
  - 5. Campus promotion and tenure subcommittee
  - 6. Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
  - 7. Chancellor

- 8. Indiana University Board of Trustees
- C. The CEPP promotion and tenure committee shall consist of two elected tenured members from each department. The majority of the CEPP promotion and tenure committee must hold at least the rank that the candidates in question are seeking. Thus, if one candidate in a given year is seeking promotion to professor, four of the six committee members must be professors. The ratio requirements of the CEPP promotion and tenure committee will be communicated to department chairs in compliance with the VCAA's P&T timetable by the Dean's office so that faculty members in each department will know this information in advance of selecting their representatives on the committee. Departmental elections for service on the CEPP promotion and tenure committee must be conducted in compliance with the VCAA's P&T timetable and the membership list must be forwarded to the Dean. The recommendation of the committee members is to be forwarded by the elected chair of the committee to the Dean and to the relevant department chair in compliance with the VCAA's P&T timetable.

The initial meeting of the CEPP promotion and tenure committee will be coordinated by the Dean's office.

D. The Dean of the CEPP will forward her/his recommendation to the campus promotion and tenure subcommittee in compliance with the VCAA's P&T timetable.

## VI. Accreditation

- **A. Unit:** Programs and/or departments within the CEPP may affiliate for the purpose of acquiring or maintaining accreditation.
- **B.** Faculty: Faculty members within an accreditation unit will be responsible for addressing all accreditation requirements.