Senate Document SD 15-12 (Amended & Approved, 1/11/2016)

TO: Fort Wayne Senate Executive Committee

FROM: Shannon Bischoff, Chair

University Resources Policy Committee

DATE: December 4, 2015

SUBJ: Amendment of the Bylaws of the Senate

WHEREAS, The University Advancement Advisory Subcommittee was established in 2014 through adoption of SD 14-27; and

WHEREAS, the Subcommittee has 10 faculty and four Ex Officio Members; and

WHEREAS, the establishing resolution did not specify the terms to be served by the faculty members on the Subcommittee, and

WHEREAS, the subcommittee can best do its work if it has broad representation across the campus,

BE IT RESOLVED, that section 5.3.5.4.1 of the Bylaws of the Senate be amended as follows (language to be added is in bold; language to be deleted crossed out):

5.3.5.4.1 Membership. The Subcommittee membership shall comprise the 10 Faculty & 4 four Ex Officio Members (Vice Chancellor of Advancement; Director of Alumni Relations; Executive Director of Marketing Communications; Director of Advancement Services)—and ten faculty elected to staggered three-year terms by the Senate in such a manner that at least one representative from each of the four of the major academic units are represented if possible.