SENATE DOCUMENT SD 16-20 APPROVED, 12/12/2016

MEMORANDUM

FORT WAYNE SENATE
STEVEN A. CARR
APPRECIATION OF EFFORTS TO SUPPORT THE RIGHTS OF IPFW FACULTY
DECEMBER 12, 2016
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

- WHEREAS, the Executive Committee of the Indiana Conference of the American Association of University Professors has issued two separate statements supporting the rights of IPFW faculty; and
- WHEREAS, the National Office of the American Association of University Professors has written a detailed letter of warning to Chancellor Vicky Carwein supporting the rights of IPFW faculty; and
- WHEREAS, the Purdue Northwest chapter of the American Association of University Professors has passed a resolution supporting the rights of IPFW faculty; and
- WHEREAS, the Indiana University Bloomington Faculty Council has passed a resolution supporting the rights of IPFW faculty; and
- WHEREAS, the Faculty of Indiana University Northwest has passed a resolution expressing concern over the rights of IPFW faculty; and
- WHEREAS, the Purdue Faculty Senate has passed a resolution supporting the rights of IPFW faculty; and
- WHEREAS, Purdue Senate Chair David Sanders visited IPFW over the course of two days to learn more about the current crisis and to become better informed about faculty concerns; and
- WHEREAS, Indiana University Board of Trustees Members Philip Eskew and Patrick Shoulders spoke forcefully in support of IPFW faculty rights, ultimately voting against the Legislative Services Agency recommendation that would split IPFW into two separate campuses, at their last meeting; and
- WHEREAS, IPFW students and alumni, including the group Not In Our Future, have spoken forcefully in support of IPFW faculty rights; and
- WHEREAS, IPFW administration has showed a recent willingness to reinstate academic programs initially targeted for elimination that it had not shown previously;
- BE IT RESOLVED, that on behalf of all IPFW faculty, the Senate express its thanks and appreciation to all those who have advocated for the rights of the faculty, and who have defended the highest principles of university shared governance and academic due process.