MEMORANDUM

TO: Fort Wayne Senate

FROM: Kathy Pollock, Chair

Executive Committee

DATE: October 31, 2017

SUBJ: Schools within Colleges

WHEREAS, IPFW has proposed the creation of a new academic organizational and administrative structure, the school within a college; and

WHEREAS, IPFW has proposed the creation of three new schools within colleges:

- (1) the School of Education within the newly-established College of Professional Studies,
- (2) the School of Music within the College of Visual and Performing Arts, and
- (3) the School of Polytechnic within the College of Engineering, Technology, and Computer Science; and
- WHEREAS, Functionally, these three schools will operate as large departments, will feature similar administrative structures as existing departments, and can never house departments within them; and
- WHEREAS, Existing Senate documents and references make reference to the rights, responsibilities, obligations, expectations, and restrictions on departments, including, perhaps most importantly, during the Promotion and Tenure process;
- BE IT RESOLVED, That all existing and future Senate documents and references that make reference to departments shall be understood to also apply to schools within colleges, unless otherwise stated in a document or reference; and
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Bylaws of the Senate shall be amended to include the following new provision:
 - **1.3.** In these Bylaws, and in all existing and future Senate documents and references that make reference to departments, those references shall be understood to also apply to schools within colleges, unless otherwise stated in a document or reference. See Senate Document SD 17-10 for background.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Senate encourages the administration to issue similar clarifying language for Office of Academic Affairs and other administrative documents and policies.

| Approved | Opposed | Abstention | Absent | Non-Voting |
|----------|---------|------------|--------|------------|
|----------|---------|------------|--------|------------|

S. Carr

A. Downs

J. Malanson

K. Pollock

A. Schwab

L. Wright-Bower

N. Younis