Senate Document SD 89-5 (Supersedes SD 88-41) (Approved, 9/18/1989)

(Superseded by SD 03-20)

(Approved, 4/12/2004)

DIVISION OF HEALTH SCIENCES Procedures for Promotion and Tenure

The Division faculty will follow the Procedures for Promotion and Tenure Senate Document SD 88-13, Amended and Approved 1/16-1/23/89, with the following additions:

Division of Dental Auxiliary Education faculty only.

The Division Director presents the faculty member's case to the Dean of the Indiana University School of Dentistry for consideration and recommendation.

The Department/Program Committee - Primary Committee

The Department/Program Committee will be composed of five tenured or tenure-track faculty elected by the Department/Program faculty and approved by the Division faculty. The Department/Program Chair will serve as non-voting chair of the Primary Committee.

All full-time tenured or tenure-track members of the department will be consulted about each case for promotion and tenure; and those persons possessing the same or higher rank or the status to which a candidate aspires will have major responsibility in formulating the department's recommendations, where possible.

When a Department/Program does not have enough tenured or tenure-track faculty to convene a committee of five, the Department/Program chair will request the Division Director to appoint the remaining Committee members from the Health Science Division faculty.

School/Division Committee

Each Department/Program will elect not more than three tenured or tenure- track faculty members from the Department/Program faculty whose names will be submitted to the Division Director.

The Division Director will select five faculty from the submitted names providing balanced representation of the disciplinary areas to form the School/Division Committee.

The School/Division Director will serve as non-voting chair of the School/Division Committee.

Campus Committee

The Division will submit three names of tenured faculty to the Chancellor for consideration. These three tenured faculty will be elected by the faculty at large.