MEMORANDUM

TO:Fort Wayne SenateFROM:Faculty Affairs Committee

Michael Downs, Chair

DATE: 2 February 1998

SUBJECT: Amendments to Arts and Sciences Promotion and Tenure Procedures (Amends <u>SD</u> 89-13)

DISPOSITION: To the Presiding Officer for implementation

Whereas, the School of Arts and Sciences faculty have voted to approve changes to their governance document in general and to promotion and tenure procedures in particular;

Resolved, That the Senate approved the attached amendments.

Senate Document SD 97-12 (Approved, 3/16/1998)

New Section:

12.3.5 When a candidate has been nominated for both promotion and tenure, separate committee votes shall be taken for each change of status, and separate rationales provided when the votes are not identical. Separate recommendations on each change of status shall be similarly supplied by the department chair and the Dean.

Current	Proposed
12.2.3 <i>The Arts and Sciences Promotion and</i> <i>Tenure Committee</i> , comprising six Faculty memberstwo each from the humanities (Communication, English and Linguistics, History, Modern Foreign Languages, Philosophy, Women's Studies), the natural sciences (Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geosciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physics), and the social sciences (Audiology and Speech	12.2.3 no change 12.2.3.1 Terms shall be two years. Each year three committee members shall be elected, one from the humanities, one from the social sciences, and one from the natural sciences. 12.2.3.2 The committee members shall be
Sciences, Political Science, Psychological Sciences, Sociology and Anthropology). 12.2.3.1 The committee members shall	elected as follows: Each department with no continuing committee members shall nominate one tenured Faculty member if

be elected as follows: Each department shall nominate one tenured Faculty member if there are three or more such individuals eligible to serve. In any other department, a tenured or tenuretrack Faculty member may be nominated. Department chairs or program directors whose departments have pending tenure or promotion cases and members of the campus promotion and tenure committee are ineligible. The Voting Faculty of the School shall elect by preferential ballot the six committee members. The ballot shall identify each nominee's department and tenure status. The two faculty members from the humanities, two from the natural sciences, and two from the social sciences who have received the most votes shall be declared elected.

there are three or more such individuals eligible to serve. In departments **with fewer than three eligible members**, a tenure or tenure-track Faculty member may be nominated. Department chairs or program directors whose departments have pending tenure or promotion cases and members of the campus promotion and tenure committee are ineligible **to serve**. The Voting Faculty of the School shall elect by preferential ballot the **three** committee members, **one from the humanities, one from the natural sciences, and one from the social sciences**. The ballot shall identify each nominee's department, **rank**, and tenure status.