TO: Fort Wayne Senate

FROM: W. Jeffrey Wilson

Speaker of the Purdue Faculty

SUBJECT: Implementation of Revised Purdue University Executive Memorandum C-19

DATE: August 31, 1998

DISPOSITION: To the Presiding Officer for implementation

Whereas the Fort Wayne Senate has been directed to establish committees and procedures to implement Purdue University Executive Memorandum C-19;

Be It Resolved. That the Senate:

- 1. Establish a Grievance Committee composed of 20 regular and 10 alternate members; which members
  - a. shall be full-time, voting, tenured Purdue faculty members; and
  - b. shall serve two-year terms with half of the members concluding their terms each year; and
  - c. shall be elected by the voting members of the Purdue University Faculty; and
  - d. shall indicate their willingness to serve prior to election; and
- 2. Empower the chair of the Grievance Committee to conduct the informal grievance process required by C-19; and
- 3. Request that at IPFW the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs designate the Affirmative Action Officer to

handle administrative matters concerning the initiation of and record-keeping associated with grievances; and

4. Direct the Grievance Committee to develop procedures to carry out its responsibilities according to guidelines

set forth in C-19, including in those procedures the stipulations

a. that the Steering, Hearing, and Appeal Committees for a particular grievance be constituted from the

Grievance Committee (including alternates, as necessary), and

b. that a Hearing Committee shall routinely solicit from each party to a grievance permission for an open

hearing, and if such permission is not granted shall solicit an explicit explanation for the refusal, and

c. that, at the hearing, the closing statement for each party may be delivered by the party or by one of

that party's advisors; and

5. Direct the Purdue University Committee on Institutional Affairs to conduct the required elections before

September 30, 1998; and

6. Further, that it direct the Rules Committee to make appropriate changes in the Bylaws of the Senate.