MEMORANDUM

TO: Fort Wayne Senate

FROM: Rules Committee

Kim McDonald, Chair

DATE: 10 February 2000

SUBJ: Amendment to the Bylaws of the Senate: Vice Chancellor for Academic

Affairs Representation on Committees

To the Presiding Officer for implementation

DISPOSITION:

Whereas, the duties of the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs often make it difficult or impossible for that officer to attend or otherwise participate in the deliberations of all the committees and subcommittees to which that officer has been appointed by the Senate; and

Whereas, these committees would benefit by having a representative of the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs present to act in the interest of the office by voting and/or to provide information useful to the work of the committees;

Resolved, That in order to allow for official designees with voting privileges to represent the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs on the Curriculum Review and Graduate Subcommittees and for designees without voting privileges to attend meetings of the Faculty Affairs and Educational Policy Committees and the Professional Development Subcommittee when the Vice Chancellor must be absent, the Senate amends its Bylaws as indicated on the following page.

Senate Document SD 99-14 (Approved, 3/13/2000)

5.3.2 The Faculty Affairs Committeeconsisting of the Chief Academic Officer of IPFW, who may send, when unable to attend committee meetings, a designee to serve as a nonvoting member, and six Senators elected by the Senate in such manner that at least four of the major academic units shall be represented, shall be concerned with the responsibilities, rights, privileges, opportunities, and welfare of the Faculty, collectively and as individuals/senate-dev/senate-dev.

5.3.2.1 *Professional Development Subcommittee*. This Subcommittee shall consist of the Chief Academic Officer of IPFW, nonvoting, **who may send, when unable to attend committee meetings, a designee to serve as a nonvoting member,** and seven members of the Faculty elected at large by the Voting Faculty subject to the restriction that no more than three shall come from the same School/senate-dev/senate-dev

5.3.3 The Educational Policy Committeeconsisting of the Chief Academic Officer, who may send, when unable to attend committee meetings, a designee to serve as a nonvoting member, the Registrar (nonvoting), and six Senators elected by the Senate in such manner that at least four of the major academic units shall be represented, shall be concerned with but not limited to the improvement of instruction, grades and grading, scholastic probation, dismissal for academic reasons and reinstatement, standards for admission, academic placement, the academic calendar, policies for scheduling classes, library and other learning-resource policies, honors programs, general education policies, general research policies, military training programs, general curriculum standards, coordination of Fort Wayne curricula with those of Lafayette and/or Bloomington, general academic organization, interdepartmental and inter-institutional research and education programs, and continuing education programs.

5.3.3.8 Curriculum Review Subcommittee

5.3.3.8.1 Membership

5.3.3.8.1.1 Elected members, elected to three-year terms by the Voting Faculty at large from among nominees elected by each School having Voting Faculty members. The School of Arts and Sciences shall be represented by three members--one each from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; other Schools shall each be represented by one member.

5.3.3.8.1.2 Two student members serving one-year terms, selected annually by Students' Government

5.3.3.8.1.3 The Chief Academic Officer, or a designee, of IPFW.

5.3.3.9 Graduate Subcommittee

5.3.3.9.1 *Membership*

5.3.3.9.1.1 Elected members, elected to three-year terms by the Voting Faculty at large from among nominees elected by each School having Voting Faculty members. The School of Arts and Sciences shall be represented by three members--one each from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; other Schools shall each be represented by one member.

5.3.3.9.1.2 The Chief Academic Officer of IPFW, **or a designee**, and the two Faculty members in charge of liaison with the graduate schools of Indiana University and of Purdue University

5.3.3.9.1.3 Two graduate students elected annually by the other members of the Subcommittee from among nominations submitted by departments or other units responsible for graduate degree programs.