# COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING, TECHNOLOGY AND COMPUTER SCIENCE

# Apportionment and Election of Senators (Approved, 1/17/1989)

(Amended & Approved, 2/28/2000)

## 1. Apportionment

The College of Engineering, Technology and Computer Science will apportion Senators in the following manner:

- A. One will be the dean of the school
- B. One per department
- C. The remaining number will be at-large Senators.
- D. If there are insufficient Senate seats allocated to allow one Senator per department, each department not currently represented on the Senate will nominate one faculty member as Senator and the faculty members with the most votes in an ETCS faculty election will be seated as the Senators.

# 2. **Department Election**

Each department will elect their Senator according to generally accepted principles of democratic representation.

#### 3. School Election

The nomination committee of the Assembly of Representatives for the College of Engineering, Technology and Computer Science will prepare the slate of candidates for the at-large Senators.

### 4. Election to Fill Vacancies

Vacancies which occur during a Senator's term shall be filled through the procedure in 1, 2, or 3 as is appropriate.

Any member of the Voting Faculty (as defined in the IPFW Constitution of the Faculty) will be eligible to serve as a Senator. Voting Faculty (as defined in the Constitution of the Faculty of the College of Engineering, Technology, and Computer Science) will be eligible to cast ballots in the above elections.

**Note**: Name change from School of Engineering, Technology and Computer Science to College of Engineering, Technology and Computer Science effective 2/28/2005.