FORT WAYNE SENATE AGENDA MONDAY October 21, 2013 12:00 P.M., KT G46

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Approval of the minutes of September 9, 2013
- 3. Acceptance of the agenda B. Valliere
- 4. Reports of the Speakers of the Faculties a. Indiana University – M. Nusbaumerb. Purdue University – P. Dragnev
- 5. Report of the Presiding Officer A. Downs
- 6. Committee reports requiring action a. Indiana University Committee on Institutional Affairs (Senate Reference No. 13-2) – M. Nusbaumer
 - b. Executive Committee (Senate Document SD 13-4) B. Valliere
- 7 Question Time
 - a. (Senate Reference No. 13-3) N. Virtue
 - b. (Senate Reference No. 13-4) M. Nusbaumer
 - c. (Senate Reference No. 13-5) M. Wolf
 - d. (Senate Reference No. 13-6) M. Wolf
- 8. New business
 - a. Library (Senate Document 13-5) T. Adkins
- 9. Committee reports "for information only" a. Nominations and Elections Committee (Senate Reference No. 13-7) – G. Hickey
- 10. The general good and welfare of the University
- 11. Adjournment*

*The meeting will recess or adjourn by 1:15 p.m.

Approving
J. Casazza
A. Downs
P. Dragnev
M. Nusbaumer
K. Pollock
B. Valliere
Y. Zubovic

Non Voting J. Malanson

Absent

ATTACHMENTS ON BACK

Attachments:

"Slate for the Election of the Indiana University Faculty Board of Review" (SR No. 13-2)

"Approval of Replacement Member of the Faculty Affairs Committee" (SD 13-4)

"Allocated Money for International Travel" (SR No. 13-3)

"Current Total Number of Tenure and Tenure Track Faculty Positions" (SR No. 13-4)

"Changes to the Public Employee Retirement Fund" (SR No. 13-5)

"Responsibilities among Members of the Central Administration" (SR No. 13-6)

"Senate Election Result on CMRE" (SR No. 13-7)

MEMORANDUM

TO:	Indiana University Senators
FROM:	Michael Nusbaumer, Chair Indiana University Committee on Institutional Affairs
DATE:	October 2, 2013
SUBJ:	Slate for 2013-2014 Faculty Board of Review Election (For replacement members on the Board of Review)

Here is the slate of Indiana University tenured faculty members who have indicated their willingness to serve on the IPFW Faculty Board of Review. Members of this body will be elected by Senators with Indiana University affiliation at the Senate meeting on October 21.

 sm

Slate

John Hrehov Cheu-jey Lee Karla Zepeda

MEMORANDUM

TO: Fort Wayne Senate

FROM: Brenda Valliere, Chair Executive Committee

DATE: September 20, 2013

SUBJ: Approval of replacement member of the Faculty Affairs Committee

DISPOSITION: To the Presiding Officer for implementation

WHEREAS, The Bylaws of the Senate provide (5.1.2.) that "... Senate Committees ... shall have the power to fill Committee vacancies for the remainder of an academic year, subject to Senate approval at its next regular meeting"; and

WHEREAS, There is one vacancy on the Faculty Affairs Committee; and

WHEREAS, The Faculty Affairs Committee has appointed Hedayeh Samavati as the replacement member for the remainder of the 2013-14 academic year; and

BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate approve this appointment.

Question Time

The following questions have to do with the allocation of \$100,000 for international travel related to the establishment of memoranda of agreement (MOA) between IPFW and international universities, as announced last March at the special meeting of the Faculty Senate by VCFA, Walt Branson. Branson stated in justification of this allocation the administration's commitment to internationalization.

I enthusiastically share the former VCFA's concern for IPFW's international mission, and am happy to see funds being allocated to support that mission, but I have some related questions:

1. What process was followed to reach the decision to increase travel money for MOA?

2. Why is international travel being prioritized over other efforts/initiatives on campus related to the internationalization of IPFW?

3. How much money has been generated by increased enrollment of international students resulting from these MOA?

4. If/when money is generated from increased international enrollment, how much of this money comes back to help support other efforts at internationalization on campus?

Nancy Virtue Department of International Language and Culture Studies

Question Time

What is currently the total number of Tenure and Tenure Track Faculty positions that have been vacated since last spring and will be vacated by the end of this academic year through retirement or other means?

Michael Nusbaumer Department of Sociology

Question Time

The Indiana Pension Management Oversight Commission has proposed changes to the Public Employee Retirement Fund. Many IPFW staff may be affected by these proposed changes. Has the central administration considered how these changes might affect staff potentially retiring prior to July 1, 2014? How might this affect IPFW's mission?

Michael Wolf Department of Political Science

Senate Reference No. 13-6

Question Time

Given the changes in responsibilities among members of the central administration and the new position of Vice Chancellor for Advancement, what are the direct responsibilities of the chancellor position now? How have these direct responsibilities changed?

Michael Wolf Department of Political Science

MEMORANDUM

TO: Fort Wayne Senate

FROM: Library Faculty Council

DATE: April 26, 2013

SUBJ: Library Tenure and Promotion Criteria

DISPOSITION: To the Presiding Officer for implementation

WHEREAS, The dissolution of the Indiana University Libraries system-wide promotion and tenure procedures and criteria occurred in January 2013; and

WHEREAS, IPFW Librarians prepared and approved a new "Criteria and Tenure and Promotion for Librarians" that conform to the Indiana University Academic Handbook, and with Fort Wayne Senate Documents addressing criteria for tenure and promotion; and

BE IT RESOLVED, Document, SD 05-12: Criteria for Promotion and Tenure for Librarians, be rendered moot.

Senate Reference No. 13-7

- TO: The Faculty
- FROM: Gail Hickey, Co-Chair & David Liu, Co-Chair Nominations and Elections Committee
- DATE: September 30, 2013
- SUBJ: Senate Election Result on CMRE

In the election for the Committee on Program/Merger/Reorganization/Elimination, because the number of qualified candidates equals the number of openings, the candidates are declared the winners.

COMMITTEE on PROGRAM/MERGER/REORGANZATION/ELIMINATION (CMRE):

Cigdem Gurgur, 2013-2015 Peter Iadicola, 2013-2015 Rick Sutter, 2013-2014 Nancy Virtue, 2013-2015 Jeff Casazza, 2013-2015 Abdullah Eroglu, 2013-2014 David Liu, 2013-14 Abraham Schwab, 2013-2014