Minutes of the

Fourth Regular Meeting of the Twenty-First Senate

Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne

December 10, 2001 and January 14, 2002

12:00 P.M., Kettler G46

Agenda

- 1.Call to order
- 2. Approval of the minutes of November 12, 2001
- 3.Acceptance of the agenda P. Hamburger
- 4. Reports of the Speakers of the Faculties
 - a. Indiana University B. Fife
 - b. Purdue University P. Hamburger
- 5.Report of the Presiding Officer L. Wright-Bower
- 6.Committee reports requiring action
 - a. University Resources Policy Committee (SD 01-7) D. Oberstar
 - b. Indiana University Committee on Institutional Affairs (SR No. 01-6) B. Fife
 - c. Executive Committee (SD 01-8) P. Hamburger
- 7.New business
- 8. Committee reports "for information only"
- 9. The general good and welfare of the University
- 10. Adjournment

Presiding Officer: L. Wright-Bower

Parliamentarian: D. Turnipseed

Sergeant-at-Arms: J. Njock Libii

Secretary: B. Blauvelt

Session I

December 10

Senate Members Present:

H. Abu-Mulaweh, J. Bausser, M. Bookout, W. Branson, H. Broberg, G. Bullion, C. Carlson, C. Champion, M. Codispoti, V. Coufoudakis, R. Darabi, S. Davis, L. DeFonso, W. DeMott, C. Erickson, B. Fife, L. Fox, R. Friedman, J. Grant, P. Hamburger, S. Hannah, S. Hartman, L. Hite, J. Hrehov, S. Isiorho, R. Kashyap, M. Kimble, J. Knight, J. Lutz, D. Marshall, E. Neal, M. Nusbaumer, D. Oberstar, B. Parke, A. Pugh, D. Ross, H. Samavati, R. Sedlmeyer, K.

Squadrito, J. Tankel, D. Townsend, M. Wartell

Senate Members Absent:

B. Abbott, E. Blakemore, J. Brennan, G. Campbell-Whatley, C. Chauhan, N. Cothern, T. Grove, J. Purse-Wiedenhoeft

Attachments:

"Amendment of the 'Ethical Guidelines for Computer Users at IPFW' [amends SD 91-5, last revised April 12,1999]" (SD 01-7)

"Ethical Guidelines for Computer Users" (SD 91-5, as amended)

"Results of the Election of the IPFW Faculty Board of Review" (SR No. 01-7)

Faculty Members Present: L. Balthaser, A. Finco, R. Hess, D. Legg, D. McCants, R. Pippert

Visitors Present: J. Dahl, A. Weissner

Acta

- 1. Call to order: L. Wright-Bower called the meeting to order at 12:02 p.m.
- 2. Approval of the minutes of November 12, 2001: The minutes were approved as distributed.
- 3. Acceptance of the agenda:
- P. Hamburger moved to approve the agenda.

The agenda was approved as distributed.

- P. Hamburger moved to set the adjournment time at 12:45. Seconded.
- J. Grant moved to amend the motion to recess until January 14.

The motion to set the adjournment or recess time passed on a voice vote.

- 4. Reports of the Speakers of the Faculties:
- a. <u>Indiana University</u>: B. Fife had no report.

- b. Purdue University: P. Hamburger had no report.
- 5. <u>Report of the Presiding Officer L. Wright-Bower</u>: The Presiding Officer asked that, if Senators need to be absent from a meeting, to please inform the Secretary or the Presiding Officer.
- 6. Committee reports requiring action:
- a. University Resources Policy Committee (SD 01-7) D. Oberstar:
- <u>D. Oberstar moved to approve</u> SD 01-7 (Amendment of the "Ethical Guidelines for Computer Users at IPFW" [amends SD 91-5, last revised April 12, 1999].

Motion to approve SD 01-7 passed on a voice vote.

- b. <u>Indiana University Committee on Institutional Affairs (SR No. 01-6) B. Fife</u>:
- B. Fife distributed ballots for the election of the Faculty Board of Review. The ballots were delivered to the Secretary. The results are attached. (See SR No. 01-7)
- c. Executive Committee (SD 01-8) P. Hamburger:
- <u>P. Hamburger moved to approve</u> SD 01-8 (Governance at IPFW: Amendments to the Bylaws).
- <u>D. Oberstar moved to amend SD 01-8</u> so as to give voting rights to any voting faculty who hold *ex officio* appointments on committees. Second.
 - M. Nusbaumer moved to table the motion to amend. Second.

Motion to table passed on a voice vote.

The meeting recessed at 12:45 p.m. until January 14.

Session II

January 14

Senate Members Present:

- B. Abbott, H. Abu-Mulaweh, J. Bausser, E. Blakemore, M. Bookout, W. Branson,
- J. Brennan, H. Broberg, G. Bullion, G. Campbell-Whatley, C. Carlson, S. Carr, C. Champion,
- C. Chauhan, M. Codispoti, N. Cothern, V. Coufoudakis, S. Davis, L. DeFonso, W. DeMott,
- C. Erickson, B. Fife, L. Fox, R. Friedman, J. Grant, T. Grove, P. Hamburger, S. Hannah,
- S. Hartman, J. Hrehov, S. Isiorho, R. Kashyap, J. Knight, J. Lutz, D. Marshall, E. Neal,
- M. Nusbaumer, D. Oberstar, B. Parke, J. Purse-Wiedenhoeft, D. Ross, H. Samavati,

R. Sedlmeyer, D. Townsend, W. Unsell, M. Wartell

Senate Members Absent: L. Hite, M. Kimble, K. Squadrito

Faculty Members Present: L. Balthaser, J. Clausen, R. Hess, D. Legg, D. McCants

Visitors Present: J. Dahl, M. Gruss, R. Kostrubanic, A. Weissner

Acta

- L. Wright-Bower reconvened the meeting at 12:01 p.m. on January 14, 2002.
- 6. Committee reports requiring action:
- c. Executive Committee (SD 01-8) P. Hamburger:

A motion to approve SD 01-8 (Governance at IPFW: Amendments to the Bylaws) was on the floor from the previous session.

<u>D. Oberstar moved a substitute motion</u> for SD 01-8, which was distributed during the meeting. Seconded.

Motion to substitute failed on a voice vote.

Motion to approve SD 01-8 failed on a voice vote.

B. Fife requested a roll-call vote.

Ayes: Senators Bullion, Carlson, Champion, Codispoti, Erickson, Fife, Grant, Hrehov, Nusbaumer, Oberstar, Samavati

Nays: Abbott, Abu-Mulaweh, Bausser, Blakemore, Bookout, Branson, Brennan, Broberg, Campbell-Whatley, Carr, Chauhan, Cothern, Coufoudakis, Davis, DeFonso, DeMott, Fox, Friedman, Grove, Hamburger, Hannah, Hartman, Isiorho, Kashyap, Knight, Lutz, Marshall, Neal, Parke, Purse-Wiedenhoeft, Ross, Sedlmeyer, Townsend, Unsell, Wartell

- 7. New business: There was no new business.
- 8. Committee reports "for information only": There were no committee reports.
- 9. The general good and welfare of the University:
- L. Wright-Bower asked Dennis Marshall, chair of Nominations and Elections, to report on the status of elections.
- D. Marshall: I've gotten two ballots so far: one for IU Speaker and one for Presiding Officer.

P. Hamburger: The Executive Committee decided that the election for the Strategic Planning and Review Council (SPARC) should be conducted by the Nominations and Elections Committee of the Senate. SPARC is not a Senate committee; it is a chancellor's committee. It does not mean that we approve or disapprove the long-term strategic plan. The committee will solicit nominations for this committee from the Voting Faculty and all Voting Faculty will vote. The solicitation will go out on Friday afternoon.

M. Nusbaumer: Is this beginning next year?

P. Hamburger: It will begin next year.

M. Nusbaumer: Our web page for the Fort Wayne Senate says "Search IPFW's Faculty Senate Web Space." We are not a faculty senate.

M. Wartell: Credit hours are up 12.2%. That will help us significantly with our budget problems. Headcount is up about 10%. In terms of credits hours, we are 7,000 hours above the record that was set in 1992. So, you are doing an incredible job.

If you have read negative things about housing in the newspaper, don't get very upset yet. We intend to proceed through the President of Purdue University next week and the Board of Trustees on February 9. That project is on schedule now and we hope to continue it on schedule for opening in the fall of 2003.

D. Oberstar: I didn't read anything about a bump in the road.

M. Wartell: *The Journal Gazette* reported that the IUPUI project was on the agenda of the State Budget Committee. There were a couple of comments by legislators that they felt that all such projects should be voted on by the entire legislature. Our project requires no state funding and causes no risk to the state. The State Budget Committee does have to approve the lease of the land.

10. The meeting adjourned at 12:45 p.m.

Barbara L. Blauvelt

Secretary of the Faculty