Senate Document SD 99-23 (Approved, 4/10/2000)

TO:	Fort Wayne Senate
FROM:	Agenda Committee C. Champion Downs, Chair B. Fife R. Hess L. Wright-Bower
DATE:	23 March 2000
SUBJ:	Proposed amendments to SD 88-17 Division of Health Sciences: Methods of Nomination, Election, and Replacement of Faculty Senators
DISPOSITION:	To the Presiding Officer for implementation

Whereas, the School of Health Sciences has approved amendments to SD 88-17;

Be It Resolved, that the Senate approve the changes as indicated below.

## **Proposed:**

## SCHOOL OF HEALTH SCIENCES

Methods of Nomination, Election, and Replacement of Faculty Senators

The School of Health Sciences would like for each of its programs to be represented in the faculty Senate.

On the basis of the present allotment of one Senator per six faculty, the School will elect Senators to represent Dental Education, Nursing, the combined faculty of Human Services, Health Information Technology, and Consumer and Family Sciences. These Senators will be nominated and elected by the faculty of the Health Sciences programs they will each represent.

In the event that additional Senators are allotted to the School of Health Sciences, these Senators will be nominated and elected at large by all of the faculty of the School of Health Sciences.

## **Current:**

## DIVISION OF HEALTH SCIENCES Methods of Nomination, Election, and Replacement of Faculty Senators

The Division of Health Sciences would like for each of its departments to be represented in the faculty Senate.

On the basis of the present allotment of one Senator per six faculty, the Division will elect one Senator from Dental Auxiliary Education, one Senator from Nursing, and one Senator from the combined faculty of Mental Health Technology and Medical Records. These Senators will be nominated and elected by the faculty of the Health Science departments they will each represent.

In the event that additional Senators are allotted to the Health Sciences unit, these Senators will be nominated and elected at large by all of the faculty of the Division of Health Sciences.